Homesteading blogs

As I have mentioned before, I am very interested in learning to live off the land that I have available to me.  This also includes raising some animals.  I may not go as far as my parents, and raise beef cows, or sheep.  But I would like to maybe have a few chickens for eggs (my kids don’t eat them, so they would be mostly for cooking), and definitely want a huge garden so that I can grow my own veggies for year round use.  Unlike some, I would rather freeze my veggies though.  I prefer the taste and texture of them to canned ones.

In my quest, I have been reading quite a few blogs, gleaning information as I go.  I don’t have enough hours in the day to write all the information down, so for now, I have added them to my favorites and go back often.  I try to start at their first postings, and read forward to the current ones. Sometimes I am just too lazy and work my way backwards.  I thought I would share a few of my favorites with you, so that you could enjoy them as well.

The Pioneer Woman – While technically not a homesteading blog, if you read how she went from a country club teen, to being a farmer’s wife, with a thriving cattle ranch, you would consider it homesteading.  Besides, she makes me laugh beyond belief, she is a fellow homeschooler, and most of her recipes are to die for.  MMM MMM Good.

Our Plain and Simple Life – If I could live her life tomorrow, I would do it in a heart beat.  I have only been reading her blog for a few days, but it so speaks to me. And she is more than willing to share what she has learned with others.  Two thumbs up!

A Plain and Simple Kitchen – Same marvelous woman as the above blog, with great recipes and tons of info on storing food.

Granny Miller –  Again, another amazing lady willing to share what she has learned.  She lets her blog readers pose questions to her, and she does her best to answer.  If she can’t answer, she tries to provide you with a place to find the answer.

A Homesteading Neophyte – This woman cracks me up.  Love her writing style. And she is a “tell it like it is” sort of woman, complete with the pictures from the recent butchering of a pig.  So if you are not looking to be shown those sort of graphic images, you have been forwarned.  Growing up, we butchered all our own meat, so it doesn’t phase me a bit.

Seeking Simplicity – This family has gone from living a very comfortable life with all the normal modern amenities, to living in a 100+ year old farmhouse owned formerly by an Amish family.  Love her posts…very truthful, honest, and insightful.

Melissa’s Ramblings – An urban family trying to incorporate changes in their lives to live a more “homesteading” life.

Those should keep you busy for a bit.  I will add them to the links section tomorrow or the day after.  Still doing my ketamine treatments, so I am trying to take each day as it comes.  I react to it differently, on different days.

Also look for a post about our “Explorers” lapbook we are working on.  I will share some free resources that I have found, and how I am going to do the same thing for our “Colonial America” lapbook.

Be blessed, and I pray that the Lord watches over each and every one of you.

2 Comments

  1. February 4, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    You probably know this already, but I must recommend Carla Emory’s book “The Encyclopedia of Country Living.” I began homestead 15 years ago after living in the city, and this book has taught me some wonderful skills in a really simple, easy, fun manner. I joke that Carla was my wonderful step mom!
    Best of luck to you on your endeavors!
    Gin
    http://highmountainmuse.wordpress.com

  2. momzoo said,

    March 10, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    wonderful links, thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

